Answer

 Search by using keywords

Search Tips
« Back to Search Results

Delete all transactions and start over

Answer ID: 1446

There are several options for you to start over with your QuickBooks Online company.  Choose which applies to you:


Existing customers (Account has been set up for more than 60 days) and would like to start over with data from Desktop or from scratch.

QuickBooks Online doesn't have a way to delete all transactions at one time.  In order to delete transactions and start over you would need to delete each entry one at a time. The easiest method to start over is to cancel your current subscription and simply start a new account.

To Cancel:

  1. Sign in to your QuickBooks Online company at https://qbo.intuit.com.
  2. Choose Your Account > Update Credit Card.   
  3. In the Subscription Status section, click the Cancel Subscription link.
  4. Follow the on-screen prompts and we'll walk you through the rest. 

Then start a new account:

To start a new QuickBooks Online Simple Start Account please follow the link below:

https://quickbooksonline.intuit.com/start/login.cfm?bc=QOS-12S

To start a new free trial QuickBooks Online Essentials company, please follow the link below:

https://quickbooksonline.intuit.com/start/login.cfm?bc=QES-24S

To start a new free trial QuickBooks Online Plus company, please follow the link below:

https://quickbooksonline.intuit.com/start/login.cfm?bc=QBP-39S

-----------------------------------------------------------------

This link will take you to our startup interview.  You can use the same user ID and password that you did previously.

Note: If you have a QuickBooks Online Essentials or Plus company, you can import your QuickBooks Desktop data by choosing Company > Import QuickBooks Desktop Data and following the prompts.

Back to top


New customers (Account is within 60 days of startup) and would like to start over with existing data from my QuickBooks Desktop.

If you are a new customer and are within the first 60 days of having set up your account, you can delete all of the existing data and start over by importing your QuickBooks Desktop data. (Available in Online Essentials and Plus only)

Caution:  Please keep in mind that this process will delete any data that has already been entered into the company and will be replaced with the data from your Desktop file. Once the data is deleted it cannot be restored and the process cannot be reversed.

To complete the process:

  1. Choose Company > Import QuickBooks Desktop Data.
  2. The next screen will provide a summary of the items being deleted.  In order to confirm that you do understand the data will be deleted you must type in the word Yes and click ok.
  3. Follow the prompts on the Import Data screen, if you would like more specific instructions, please read our knowledgebase article KB 2116:  Importing data from QuickBooks Pro/Premier.
  4. After the import is completed you'll receive an email stating that the download is complete.  You can then sign back in to QBO where your data should now be available.

Back to top


New customer (account is within 60 days of startup) and I would like to start over from scratch.

If you are a new customer and are within the first 60 days of having set up your account, you can delete all of the existing data and start over from scratch.

Caution:  Please keep in mind that this process will delete any data that has already been entered into the company. Once the data is deleted it cannot be restored nor reversed.

To complete the process, follow the instructions below:  

  1. Click the Company tab, then click Chart of Accounts.
  2. On the top right section click on the How do I? button.
  3. A Help Topics dialog box will open; click on the Index... button.
  4. Another box will open; on step 1. Type beginning of keyword type in the word wipe.
  5. Wiping data should be selected; click on 3. Click to show topic.
  6. Go to the Help Topics dialog box and click on the blue link within To wipe QuickBooks Online data, please read this first.
  7. The next screen will provide a summary of the items being deleted.  In order to confirm that you do understand the data will be deleted you must type in the word Yes and click OK.
  8. If the industry you desire to select is different than the one showing feel free to change and mark whether you would like the system to create accounts based on your industry or start with an empty chart of accounts. Once your selections are complete, click Wipe Data.

Once the deletion is complete you will be rerouted to your home page.

Back to top

Details  

« Back to Search Results
Powered By RightNow Technologies
 
Most Viewed Answers